Sign in with
Your question

Sandy/Ivy Bridge, Larrabee, DX11... worth waiting?

Last response: in Systems
May 15, 2009 4:01:29 AM

I'm quite new to the enthusiast world, only started in December-ish 2008. To make a long story short, I was stupid enough to go with an XFX 750a chipset board with Phenom 9500 (lol) as my first build, returned it, got a Phenom 710 (lol again, no BE 720 stupid me) and sold it again. Now , I'm stuck (again) with my dad's old P4 that I can't even flipping OC because I can't find out how to lock PCI frequency, and no one is responding to my thread regarding my P4S800's BIOS options... so, I'm getting a used AGP card upgrade from ebay as a temp. solution for this year (I'm a student using dad's credit card).

So, with all the new plans for USB 3, PCIE 3, DDR3, and DX11, Larrabee, i5's and 32nm Sandy Bridge followed by the 22nm shrink Ivy Bridge, are you guys waiting for the next wave of new technology, or are you guys not hesitating to buy? Please keep in mind I don't have all the money in the world... I'm just a highschool student. I really want to wait out for all the new interfaces to kind of future-proof myself at least until gr12 grad (I'm in gr9). My head is telling me to get an i5 and wait until Ivy Bridge comes out so that Sandy Bridge drops in price and get a Sandy Bridge with a Larrabee... I believe i5's are going to be less expensive since they're inferior to i7's. What do you guys think?

Any suggestions on a different temporary solution for the summer?
P4 socket 478 @3ghz
512 PC3200 DDR1, adding some mo
Radeon 9250, uprading to Geforce 7800/Radeon 9800/x1600 (circle one :) )
Some random brand 80gb HDD... I don't think my mobo even supports RAID... shucks to be a son of chinese parents. Any know if my mobo is going to RAID somehow?