I7 2600k + Asus P8P67 Pro

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
  • Asus
  • BIOS
Last response: in Overclocking
March 18, 2011 5:07:01 PM

Ok so I bought the whole setup + a BIG Thermalright Archon for overclocking. I have some experience in OC'ing as I had my Q6600 at 3Ghz stable for over a year now.

Problem is I cant seem to OC my CPU in the Bios AT ALL! It just refuses to stick at anything above x3.4... Wont even do x3.5. When I use the Auto AI Overclocking thing in the Bios, all it does is boosts my FSB (BCLK) to 102 and there it stays. I know that Auto Overclocking stuff normally sucks but hell, I had to try something. Was going nuts...

Downloaded the latest Bios update from Asus.
Temps in CoreTemp is around 35 on Idle. Room temp is around 27 digrees.

Full system spec:
I7 2600K
Asus P8P67 Pro
CoolMaster GX 650W (I'm not happy with this PSU, system was suppose to be a quite system. This thing sounds like a jet...)
Corsair XMP 1600 2x2GB
AMD 6870

I'm including a couple of Pictures that I'm hoping someone will find useful.

As you can see in the picture above, I changed to multiplier, to no prevail...

Notice the CPU Ratio Range? When using the + and - to modify the multiplier, it stops at x34. I can type in a different amount like 35, but ill restart, boot into Windows (even in the Bios) and it still comes up as 3400Mhz!

I did go through the Tom's Guide to OC'ing 2600k/2500k but I couldn't see anything new there that's not obvious to an average OC'er.

Please can someone help. I REALLY don't want to let my Archon go to waste :( 

More about : 2600k asus p8p67 pro

March 18, 2011 6:34:32 PM

Do you have intel virtualization tech turned enabled?
March 18, 2011 6:45:21 PM

mrface said:
Do you have intel virtualization tech turned enabled?

Recently enabled it.

Going to try out http://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/916621-asus...
Hoping there guide might help me. Although i think my problem is something els and not the bios tweaks for the OC...