Sign in with
Your question

I7 920 + Asus P6T ?

Last response: in CPUs
August 19, 2009 6:11:57 PM

Hi,
I'm building a new computer, I have some experience from research and guide. I'll spend around 1000-1200 CA$ for that computer and I'll eventually OC it.
From what I've heard, the intel i7 920 seems to be a good CPU to OC. I want to know if he fits well with the Asus P6T. I've found in some benchmark that they used this combo to OC it. It's about 600-700 $ for both of these composant and idk how much I'll have to spend for RAM and Graphic card.

More about : 920 asus p6t

August 19, 2009 6:32:11 PM

Yes the CORE i7 920 CPU works well with the Asus P6T.

Also in Late September to mid October, Intel will be coming out with the Core i5 for the P55 Mobo's, which will use Dual Channel DDR3 Ram and should be some what cheaper in price if you can wait until then.

If you still wish to go forward on the Core i7 build, reply back and we here should be able to help you out. :D 
August 19, 2009 6:46:49 PM

Thank for the information. I don't think I understand you well however. In my head it's working like this: New technology = droppin prices for older one. But you seem to tell me that this new tech is priceless and use the new ram tech. So what should I wait for? i5 or priceless i7?
P.S. I don't like new tech because we don't know what we may find!
Related resources
August 19, 2009 7:16:28 PM

Lets see if I can simplify it.

The Core i7 is for the Enthusiast Market (Very High end and Overclocking). Which reflects higher prices for CPU, Motherboards and Ram.

The Core i5 that is coming out will be for Mainstream Market (Every day user and modest OC). Which reflects mid-range prices on CPU, Motherboards and Ram.

The Core i7 uses Triple Channel DDR3 Ram that costs higher then Dual Channel DDR3 Ram. Plus most Mobo's (short for motherboards) for the Core i7 generally costs above $200 to $450 USD. The Core i5 costs range for Mobo's will be in the $150 to $250 USD price range.