Total newb needs help with e8500 on a P5Q-e Motherboard

iloxygenil

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2011
Hey guys, thanks for any and all help you guys can give me here, I'm into gaming but I bought a computer about 2 years ago and was looking to upgrade when I realized I've never even OC'd my old computer, thought I may get another year or so out of it so I can see greater improvement in the performance of multicore processors vs the dual core I have.

That being said, I've heard of people hitting 4.5 stable on this combo, wouldn't need to push mine that hard, but I'd love to hit as much as I can stable to give me the ability to stretch the performance of that 3.16 GHz I have right now.

I am running:

Intel E8500 Wolfdale @3.16
Asus P5Q-e motherboard
8 gigs (2gig x 4) of 4-4-4-12 GSkill 240 Pin DDR2 SDRAM 800(PC2 6400) (I think, will double check when I get home)
EVEGA GTX460 (Fermi) Superclocked 1GB 256bit (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130571)
On a 600 watt Powersupply

I know my 7200 RPM Western Digital HDD is part of my slow down, but with the price of SSD being insanely high right now I'm trying to wait it out til they come down a bit. If you guys need any more info from me please let me know.

Anything you can do to hold this newbie's hand through the process of overclocking would be greatly appreciated!

-A

First of all, (unless I misunderstood) hard drive speed does not affect overclocking and CPU speed.

This should be your first stop.
Core2 Overclocking Guide
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/259899-11-core-overclocking-guide

Next stop should be a guide for your particular motherboard. Google is your friend.