SSD - Intel 510 (Elm Crest) 120GB
HDD - 1TB SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3R
RAM - G.SKILL RipJaw X 8GB
Case - CoolerMaster HAF X
UPS - CyberPower 900W

My OC target is:

CPU @ 4.6 GHz
RAM @ 1866 MHz (8-8-8-#-2) <-- would like 1T but fine with 2T

The deal is, i've been having so much trouble getting a stable OC. I have no experience OC and this last week has been fun but pretty hectic.

100 BLCK w/ 45x gets me up and running but during Prime95 Small FTT it crashes within 10 minutes.
I lowered it to 44x and Prime lasted me 8 hours A-OK.

I tried messing around with settings to get my RAM to 1866MHz. It worked with what I remember was a 1.6v, but I messed up on another setting and got lost with what I did so I had to rest the BIOS settings. (Sigh). At this point NOTHING worked. I couldn't put the Turbo Multiplier to 44. I tried and tried to mess around but nothing...so I reset it again. I did the Auto Tuning, set it to Extreme, and let it do its rebooting, but to my surprise it couldn't even load the BIOS. I mean it kept trying, rebooting itself but failed and tried again, and again, until I just stopped it and powered it up myself. It started up fine, so I let the Auto Tuning keep going. It took me to its so called stable setting.

103.0 BLCK w/ 44 so basically 4.5GHz which made say "not this again". To double check, I ran Prime95 and again it crashed within 10 minutes, so I lowered it to 43x. Ran Prime for about 30min just to get the feel and everything is good so far.

Now I would like to know what can I do to reach my target. If my CPU can't go higher than fine, but what about my RAM. My RAM is rated at 1600MHz @ 1.5V (8-8-8-24)

Heres the link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231445

Now, I could not get it to reach 1866MHz (BLCK at 100) even with a maximum recommended DRAM Volt and 1.65V :fou:

I know I am so not experienced at this, so I just decided to ask a community who is.

What settings do I HAVE to changed to even think of OC.