Sign in with
Your question

Liquid cooling- worth it in 2011?

Last response: in Overclocking
March 21, 2011 8:40:34 PM

Hi guys,

I hope this (sub) category fits with my question. Anyway, I know that by now, many great air coolers exist- currently I have a hyper 212 plus. I am wondering: is it worth it to get water cooling? For now, I am only going to cool my cpu but if I do buy a watercooling setup, I will probably buy a gpu block as well. I saw that using new distilled water/cooling liquid once a year is ok, which I am fine with. I have never used water cooling before and I just want to know if its worth it, or if its better to spend the money upgrading my gtx 260 (which, I noted performs slightly better in Crysis than a gtx 550ti.) And my cpu is i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz.
Thank you for your help :) 
a c 330 K Overclocking
March 21, 2011 8:51:10 PM

It depends on your budget, honestly. I've watercooled for ~9 years and I'll continue for quite a while, if possible. I have a lot of info in my signature...give them a good read-thru and see if it helps answer your questions.

For a loop of what you are thinking, consider budgeting $250-$300, easily, depending on component choice.

BTW...I'm running a Q6600 CPU and SLI GTX 260's...good times.
March 21, 2011 9:03:52 PM

It really depends on who you are. The biggest advantage to water cooling is the ability to build a totally silent system that can out compete high end air.

You'll find a lot of people water cooling are not necessarily going for the super overclocks bat are doing it because they enjoy it. If you're the kind of person that could get lost in a tub of Lego then you'll probably have a lot of fun.
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
March 21, 2011 9:05:40 PM

I think watercooling might be worth it only for the following type of people:
  • Heavy overclockers
  • Medium overclockers who want really quiet rigs
  • Medium overclockers who are building HTPC and have space constraints