Installing a 3rd SATA internal HDD when master & slave are IDE

soundieNYC1

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2011
after seeing Paperdoc's advice here
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/265453-32-installing-sata-drive-advice#t1836790

is this my problem?

I purchased a new 1 TB SATA internal HDD and am trying to add it to my
system to copy data to it.

I have a 2006 era Gigabyte GA-K8NSC-939, Form Factor ATX CPU Socket Type
939 motherboard. it has two SATA ports (150Mbps speed).
my primary and slave internal Harddrives are IDE drives.
I am running Windows XP SP3.

I am adding a new WD black caviar 1 TB SATA drive for more storage
internally today.

It is not being recognized.
I looked at the online WD PDF of jumper settings and cannot figure
that's it.

This is my first time using one of the two 150Mbps SATA ports on my
motherboard.
Must I use the SATA 0 port or SATA 1 or it doesn't matter?

Since the new SATA HDD did not come with a jumper is this necessary to
tell the HDD to run at 150Mbps by adding a jumper on pins 5 & 6 or not
necessary?

I'm not a extreme techie and have never messed with the BIOS before.

Will a motherboard always recognize a SATA HDD first and not boot from
an IDE drive?

My longer plan is to start adding a bunch of music to this new 1 TB SATA
drive and within 6 months probably purchase a new AMR3+ Mobo,CPU, RAM, a
new SATA 500GB boot HDD, Windows7 OS. (and get rid of the old IDE drives
completely.)

How do I get this new SATA drive recognized?

Well, let's ask questions to narrow it down. When you say that the disk is not recognized, do you just mean that there is no disk letter for it, which is to be expected, or that Disk Management doesn't see the empty drive?