Install XP on SSD in Compatibility mode OK?

pieman7

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2011
I recently installed an Intel X25-M on my Thinkpad T61 laptop. Due to work requirements, I need to have Windows-XP as the OS.

At the time I was a noob and didn’t think it was possible to install XP in AHCI mode. So before installing XP, I set the BIOS SATA controller setting from AHCI to “Compatibility” to avoid the blue screen of death. After completing the XP install, I ran all the updates, loaded current XP drivers, and the changed the BIOS back to AHCI mode. So far no problems.

I was impressed with how much faster the startup and shutdown times improved. Instead of 6-8 minutes with the old spinning drive, I am now up and running in less than a minute! Then I started running some performance utilities: HD Tune, HD Tach, AS SSD, and CrystalDiskMark. The results are far less than what I expected from ALL the benchmarks: 45-50MB/s sequential read speeds. Isn’t this around IDE speeds?! I’m expecting around 150MB/s since the controller is SATA I.

Since then I’ve done a lot of forum reading trying to get the performance to where it should be. I’ve already tried the following:
- Updated all possible drivers.
- Loaded the latest BIOS version
- Ran SSD-Tweek for XP

The only thing I can think of next to try is to reinstall XP in AHCI mode using F6 to install current SATA drivers. However, I’d really like to avoid doing this since it takes me so long to get my working environment right again.

So, I have the following questions:
1) Is it possible to get the expected read/write speeds after installing XP in IDE /Compatibility mode, then switching to AHCI?
2) Am I screwed and need to install everything again in AHCI mode?
3) Am I actually getting expected speeds, but the benchmarking software is somehow at fault for giving incorrect/slow results?
4) Is there something else to try?

Current Specs:
Thinkpad T61
MTM: 7659-C29
CPU: Intel Mobile Core 2 Duo T7300
BIOS:
BIOS version: 7LETC7WW (2.27)