Sign in with
Your question

Newbie Overclocking.

Last response: in Overclocking
March 23, 2011 5:32:54 AM

Can Anyone recommend me a site that has a more simple explanation on how to overclock? I tried reading and comprehend everything but, its still confusing and i am a novice. Most of you might say i shouldnt overclock or something but I would really like to learn how. so please.

I have an Amd Phenom II X4 965 BE
Noctua NH-D14
GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 ATX AMD Motherboard
GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit

More about : newbie overclocking

March 23, 2011 4:37:42 PM

I dont know how the Bios is set up on your MOBO. But I have my 965 BE at 4.1ghz with voltage at 1.45v. Somewhere in your bios there should be settings for the CPU multiplier and voltage. Every CPU is a little different so like Henydiah said you do this step by step. Go to the multiplier and raise it up 1 at a time and then save and boot. I run some benchmarks and play some games to make sure its stable (3dMark11).

At some point wile raising your multiplier your CPU will not boot( for me at stock voltage it was 4.0ghz). At this point you would start upping the voltage to make it stable and boot again. So in my case I could go higher but dont see a need at this point 4.1ghz on stock air is good for me lol.

Prime 95 is great but a bit overkill I think. I say this because with prime 95 my CPU will hit 63-64c in 5mins. BUT wile gaming I cant get it to go over 50c no matter what I do. I can play crysis or Metro 2033 for a few hours and the highest ive seen is it hit 51c one time. SO going off of prime 95 I would say I need better cooling, wile in real world use im nowhere neer the 60c temp I want to stay under.