dontbesojumpy

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2009
hi all. i'm far out of the computer game, and have taken a crash-course in current processors and ram specs in the last few days.
i'm looking to buy a new computer, and i'd love to hear suggestions of what you guys would get if you were me.

here's the scoop:

i'm a graphic/fine artist--however i mainly use photoshop cs4, a very little illustrator, but a fair amount of Daz 3d (rendering and modeling).
i'd also do a bit of amateur recording (line-in) to the computer.

i multitask like a MF.

i do not 'game.'

that being said, i'm currently running an hp, single core *3.06ghz, 1.5gb ram.

my line-in recording is adequate on this machine, but everything else is lagging bad.

i'm looking to get around 8gb ddr3 ram, a quad core intel Q8200 or better, and i think i want a tv tuner, just because.

i want to spend around $800, less if possible, and certainly not more than a grand.

i'm looking at the HP p6140f and the HP e9160f, or maybe the gateway DX series....

again, i'm out of the game, so let me know what you think. i'd like to get something that will keep up with the times for a good few years (which is why i want an intel q8200 or better and the ddr3 ram)...but something with a ton of ddr2 that'll run pleanty quick might be ok, too.

i just dont know of any good computers right now, so let me know...

Solution
The i7 would be a definite improvement, but for what you spent, that is quite a decent system for your application. I would say that if you could pull it off, definitely go for the i7, but even if you can't, you should see a significant speed boost compared to your prior setup.

Devastator_uk

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2009
I would really go for a "proper" processor like a PhenomII or i7, both of with are good for multi-tasking. I'm not sure about Gateway as they are very rare in my country but if you can avoid HP, they're pretty much the worst thing money can buy.