Choosing a p67 overclocker

preolt

Distinguished
Oct 31, 2010
Hey TH,

I am currently building my first SB build and need a little bit of help. I'll be sure to list my system specs and components for you guys. First off I am a photographer with gaming on the side. I use cpu heavy applications and so the more ghz i can push out of processors the better. Though after doing some testing I am finding that the i5-2500k runs every thing I need when clocked at 4ghz. I know it can go beyond this, but my biggest thing is stability. I will be keeping the processor at this speed (or higher) till the end of its days. So I want to find a mobo that will support the heat and speed of such oc's.

Now that thats out of the way here are my system specs.

Cpu: i5-2500k
mobo: choosing
heat sink: own both the H70 and the mugen scythe
gpu: msi 560 ti twin frozr
SSD: 2x intel 64 Gb
HD: I am in the process of creating a 10 tb RAID system, I have never built one before and so I am trying not to cut corners.

Thats about every thing I believe.

Now for motherboard choices. I want to for sure keep the price of the board below 300$. I know that leaves out some prime boards, m4, ud7, etc.

I was actually only planning on spending around 200$ but after talking to some people decided to expand my range a little. So far the boards that I have sited are as followed. (not in any specific order)

ASUS:
PRO-180ish
Evo-240
Revolution-200
Sabertooth-220

Gigabyte:
UD4-190
UD5-250

Asrock:
Fatal1ty-250
professional-160