seelani

Distinguished
Aug 3, 2009
Recently i have had the urge to build my own pc, probably due to the surge of testosterone from replacing the gpu and hdd in my family pc. ^.^

Well i'm a true hardware noob, and do loads of extensive research before i actually start work.

So a processor needs a motherboard that can handle its processing capabilities. And motherboards come in different sizes-as such the case that i purchase has to be able to fit that type of motherboard right, or do cases fit all motherboards in general?

So here's the real issue, while looking at intel's website and looking through forums, i read about bottleneck issues.

Here's what i infered from my research, a GPU's memory clock has to match or be lower that the CPU's core speed to prevent bottleneck issues, am i right?

And in anycase is it amount of memory or memory technologies that can cause cpu memory bottleneck issues?

Thanks in advance for all the help, and the effort put into answering my question!

nonxcarbonx

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2009
No, the memory clock doesn't need to have any kind of ratio with the cpu. Th e only bottleneck is if you get a really powerful graphics card(s), say 2 gtx 295s in sli and put them in a system with a low end processor, like a Pentium 4. The processor can't get enough data to the gpu to fully utilize it. Clock speed doesn't matter as much as cpu architecture. However, you can increase the performance of your components by increasing the clock speed, which can help, i.e, overclock them.

Also, i don't think you need to worry about an mb not fitting in a case (you should check though), but some graphics cards might not fit.

Pretty much what he said.