Sign in with
Your question

Oh No, I think I broke it

Last response: in Overclocking
March 24, 2011 11:59:20 PM

Well, here's the story from the start. I bought a PII 965be 2nd hand as part of a complete overhaul of my rig about 7 months ago and it has done just fine at 3.4 with the stock cooler. a week ago I got a coolermaster hyper 212 plus and another 4gb of ram making 8gb and upgraded to 64bit os. I figured why not see what the cpu can do? everything in the computer is built to be overclocked so i cracked out the asus auto-overclocking utility and let it do it's thing. well it got to 3970 mhz and locked up so I set it at a hair under 3700, stress tested it with prime95 and watched temps for a couple of days and everything was sweet.
well a week later, (yesterday) it got a pretty pattern all over the screen and bluescreened. oops. so I opened the bios did a "restore default settings" and restarted. 30 mins later it does the same thing - at stock speeds. so I do a complete reinstall(ok not complete, I didn't format and I have the windows.old folder on the c: drive) incase it corrupted something on the hard drive but it still does it - it's guaranteed to lock up 5-45 mins after booting.
this doesn't seem right. I NEVER overheated it, I was very fussy about that it never really went over 55*c.

my rig
Phenom II 965 BE
8gb kingston hyperx 1600 mhz
M4A87TD usb3
Windows 7 64 bit
boot hdd (old lappy hdd)
backup samsung spinpoint f3 1tb

I guess the question is what now? what is likely the problem? am I gonna have to fork out for another cpu? or ram? or mobo?

Title Edit: 4ryan6

More about : broke

March 25, 2011 6:05:53 PM

check whats causing the bsod
m
l
a b K Overclocking
March 25, 2011 7:36:31 PM

Seems like a graphics related issue to me.But is possible you might have overheated the NB or SB.Were you watching those temps too?