Q6600 vs Q9550...is it worth the upgrade?

crashingmedic

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2008
Hey all. I've got a Q6600 in my rig now (rig specs in my signature) and MicroCenter has the Q9550 for $170+tax. Are there enough benefits of the Q9550 over the Q6600 to upgrade?

I'm mainly a day trader but I do occasionally play Quake 4, Doom 3 and a few other older games. They all run fine.

My main tasks involve using very cpu intensive charting programs and I use @ 2GB of my 4GB RAM (only 3GB available on xp 32 bit though) when trading. I now have Windows 7 as a dual boot but it has issues with my trading programs so I use xp 32 bit most of the time now. Simply put, I'm an extreme multitasker and I use 12-15 or more programs simultaneously all the time.

I've looked at the benchmarks of the Q9550 vs the Q6600 and it wins hands down in every category in an impressive manner. But how does that relate to real world experience. I've talked to many, many people who have upgraded to the Q9550 and most say they wish they would have waited for an i7. I'm considering waiting until next year when the prices come down on the i7 and building a whole new rig anyway.

Lastly, if I do upgrade I'll either use the Q6600 to build a budget rig for my kids (spend another $300 or so to do it) or sell the Q6600 on eBay. They are selling for @ $125-$175 used.

Any opinions are helpful. Thanks...EWB

reconviperone1

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2006
I'm having the same dilema, keep going back and forth on it, and I think honestly it would be better to just upgrade to I-7 next year. While the q9550 is awesome, and beats the q6600 in every benchmark, mine honestly runs everything i throw at it quite easily, so my suggestion keep it and wait for a I-7.

Six or eight months ago I would have said do it, but right now you would be better off waiting a little longer and seeing what the release of i5 does for the market as the real world difference between the Q6600 and the Q9550 is not a night/day one.

rand_79