Sign in with
Your question

How do you manage RAID migration and repair?

Last response: in Storage
January 15, 2011 6:04:11 PM

I've been doing some searching and I can't seem to find a good breakdown of how this all works. OK, I'm pretty new to the idea of running my own NAS so if any of this is blatantly obvious please forgive me.

To give people a quick run-down on what I'm planning, I currently have just a 2TB hard drive that's quickly filling. I want to go RAID so I can make my data redundant. I also want to increase the total usable capacity so right now I'm looking at doing at least a 4-disk array. Either RAID5 or RAID10, I haven't decided which. I get the impression that RAID5 has higher capacity but there are some reliability issues? I'd love someone to explain that to me as well...

Anyway, the key point of this post is this: Let's say I successfully build myself a 4-disk RAID array. Let's say it's a RAID10 because I'm hearing that might be the best way to go at this point. If I had 4x2TB drives and wanted to upgraded to 4x3TB drives, how would I have to go about that? I've heard one option is a backup and basically rebuilding it from scratch and replacing it with the backup but I really don't want to have to go that far. I would like to be able to do this all from within one machine for now.

Other than expanding the individual drives, what i fI wanted to go from a 4x2TB RAID10 array to a 6x2TB RAID10 array, would it be possible to add the two new drives to the array without rebuilding it from scratch?

Basically, I'm trying to figure out the basic points of managing a NAS RAID array so I can decide whether it's in my best interests to either just buy something like a Drobo (expensive and lean on features but so easy a child could use it) or buy an NAS or build my own.

I'd also love to know if any one OS makes it easier than any other OS. So, basically, I'm open to any and all suggestions.
January 19, 2011 8:11:44 AM