Putting my sandy bridge system together soon, going to OC a bit...

benson733

Distinguished
Jul 2, 2010
i7 2600k cpu (with Corsair H50 cooler with 2 scythe slipstreams)
p8p67 deluxe mobo
evga 580 gpu
1000watt psu (unknown model)
64gb crucial ssd
1tb WD or Samsung
Windows 7 home or pro
All packed into an Antec 1200 case all fans high

I'm looking to purchase the rest of the parts and install a fresh copy of windows 7 within a few weeks it should be ready to go, but I want to learn now. I took a little look at the overclocking sticky and it makes some sense to me. I have good tech skills and the ability to understand instructions very well. I'm not afraid to ask questions, thats why I'm here. I'm very new to overclocking and I want a small-medium overclock, something that wont degrade the cpu because I realize that 4.2-4.6 is a very nice overclock and the H50 is a decent cooler but not the best, I really like how it looks and works for the price point.

Down to the real question:

Should I just upgrade the bios and use the ASUS tool to overclock the cpu or should I do it manually? I need guidance such as a check list of what to do.

Solution

Regardless of how you cool the CPU, keep in mind that the CPU generates heat first - then that heat is transferred to the heatsink and dissipated.

I like the conservative approach of going to 4.2 GHz. Run it at this setting for a few weeks. Monitor temps and get a good feel for what is going on. Then if you feel adventurous, try for a slightly higher overclock. You are a computer user, not a research lab...
The Asus tool, just like EVGA E-LEET Utility, is a nice quick method to try various settings. Once you know what you want, make the changes in the BIOS.

Your approach to this is conservative and systematic. And since you have some time, do some reading on this Forum as well as other forums before you tweak settings.