Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking Advatange in Dis-Advantage

Last response: in Systems
May 20, 2009 4:58:54 PM

I’m really new to PC building. Now like watercooling, overclocking is not for hobbyist anymore. Every one can do it because the tools and facilities are available. I’ve been reading a lot of forums since I’ve started thinking of building my very first Custom built PC. From this, all I see is overclocking. From CPU to memory to GPU (I wish I could overclock my girlfriend… Just Kidding). Honestly, I’m trying to convince myself why this is a good choice compare to just buying the highest specs. Again, I don’t want to offend anybody. I really just want to ask peoples opinion. Aside from saving and getting your money’s worth, what other benefits can you get from overclocking. The way I look at it (IMHO), when you overclocked you will inflict more heat, more power consumption, more risk of damaging hardware, and sometimes system instability. On some forums people will say “get the 920 its better than 965” other other hand same people will say “if I get a 965 for free or less I’ll take it”. Is it really all about money? I know it’s a user preference. But I’m wondering, how many people in most of these forums tell other people “Get this because this is the right thing” and not “Get this because I envy you for having a more highest spec than I have”. This may sound a little bit harsh but I came from a culture where this always happens (crab mentality). So please excuse me for being ignorant. I guess just I’m paranoid. So if you are going to build a new PC and money is not an object, would you still choose to overclock?
May 20, 2009 5:15:28 PM

^ Of course I would, If I could since most dual socket, or octo socket for that matter, don't have OC facilities but if I could then yes I would OC, because there is always more performance that you can get.
May 20, 2009 8:24:57 PM

This is weird I was about to ask this question. Spot on PC_Plum