Crysis and GTA4 Gaming Build

Distinguished
May 21, 2009
Hello Toms Community,

I wanted a better machine over my prebuilt old Dell computer which is so slow and obsolete. I have no experience what so ever for building computers, so I got my co-worker to help me pick out parts. He saids I pay him $1150 he'll build the computer, and install programs. Here is the system he is going to build me for Crysis and GTA4. How is it? Should I go with his plan? Here is the list of items he's chosen

Intel Celeron 430 1.8GHz Quad Core |what are cores?|

Jetway LGA775 G31 (Whats this?? :( )

Crucial Rendition 1GB DDR2 800 RAM

Western Digital 500GB Hard Disk

Asus Geforce by Nvidia 8400GS

Corsair hx1000w power pack

Asus 1920x1200 monitor

Rosewill case

worth it? Thanks

You are kidding right?

That fellow is NOT your friend, and that system will not run those titles at that resolution.

Furthermore, the cost of those parts comes to about 600 dollars, half of which is the power supply.... far more than would be needed.

I'll make a list of the right parts, but don't let that guy near them.

Widescreen monitor:
22" LG monitor

Case:
Cooler Master 690

CPU and MB:
AMD X4 940 and Gigabyte 790X
CPU cooler

CORES are the number of actual processors inside a CPU. The CPU you listed I don't think exists.

Memory:
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066

Power supply:
PC P&C 750W
This is all the power you need.

Video card:
EVGA GTX 260 overclocked

Hard drive:
WD Caviar Black 640GB

DVD Burner:
LG

That should come to well under the quoted price. Build it yourself and tell that guy where to stick it ;)

Distinguished
May 21, 2009
Thank you for the information Proximon, however I am still a total noob and need major help on building a whole computer myself :( . Also what is IGP?

Godhatesusall

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2009
IGP=Intergrated Graphics Processor.