Norton Ghost and XP for dummies

gazzawags

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2011
Hi
I deliver boats for a living. The equipment I take with me has to be portable and run off a 12v DC system. I use a refurbished Dell Latitude D630 with a hand held GPS connected to it's serial port. I also connect an Iridium 9555 satellite phone for periodic email transmission. I also use the dell for picture and music storage. I have a number of other programs installed that are used on occasion. The email connection is via a dial-up link.
The dell operates as a chart plotter and a sat-phone link, once I leave on a trip the dell stays running till I get to my destination. When in port the chart-plotter and sat-phone side gets shut down and then use a wi-fi link if available for contact to the out side world (email and browsing). I port the dell does get turned off and used when necessary. I run an anti virus when mailing or browsing in port, but gets disabled/partially disabled when used as a chart plotter again. The latitude series suites my purpose as it has a lot of " connector points". The navigation program only reads the gps through the serial port, the sat-phone to a USB, a wireless mouse to another USB and 2 spare USB's for connecting flash or external drives for music or storage downloads. The modem for the sat phone is dedicated to a specific USB port. Refurbished units are used as I do not expect them to have a long life expectancy, due to the constant running and constant exposure to sea air - corrosion is rife!

My wish is to be able to have a replica of the dell's hd, which if it's hd ever fails. I am able to remove it from the dell and replace with the spare/replica hd. Connect all my goodies to it and be operating again with out any pain - hopefully!
Also I hope to be able to the next latitude replacement.

I am no computer fundi, what I know is dangerous......!
I am looking for a dummies guide of how to do this if it is at all possible to do this.