Please recomend a PCIe X16 Graphic card for new system

jonathon38

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2009
I am building a new system and I am new to the gaming world. My new system will start with a Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower Black Case which has 3 230MM Fans and allows me to install 3 more 230MM and 1 120MM for great cooling. It is also set up for water cooling but I don't know much about H2o cooling. I want to buy the MSI 790FX-GD70 Motherboard / CPU Bundle - AMD 790FX, Socket AM3, CrossFireX, PCI Express 2.0, AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition, 3.20GHz CPU. Thinking of using Corsair PC10600 1333MHz 4GB DDR3 Desktop Memory Upgrade - 4096MB (2x 2048MB), 240 Pin, Dual-Channel, and Corsair TX750W 750-Watt Power Supply - ATX, 140mm Fan, SLI-Ready, SATA-Ready, 80Plus-4 X PCIe Joints, and 1 TB = 2 X 500GB WD500AAKS Hard Disks. I'm using a 23" 1080P HD Monitor Made by Sceptre with DVI. Now it comes to my graphic cards. I think I want to start with just one card but I want to be able to add a second, third and fourth. I'm going to add a Blur-Ray Burner and a DVD-RW. Any advise on Brand Name? I'm tring to keep cost down and would like to be able to use this PC as a work station as well. My O/S is Vista Home Premium 32 Bit. I pretty sure I will have to upgrade to 64 Bit when I add more memory. The MOB comes with 8 channel sound, should I add Creative Labs SB X-FI Titanium PCIe Sound Card?

One question I have is: do all of the cars have to be the exactly the same?
Question 2: ATI or nVidia and should I go with 512, 786, 1Gig?
Question 3: does the above configuration sound good, or should I change out MOB? Memory? Power Pack?
Question 4: Do I need 64 bit Vista to run the above system?

I'm new to gaming and I know you guy's are experts when it comes to this subject.

Any advise you may have for me would be greatly appreciated.

1: No, although it is a good idea to keep them as similar as possible because Crossfire, like SLI will set the whole system to match the lowest card.