Sign in with
Your question

High Temps on the Phenom II x4 955 BE

Last response: in Overclocking
April 2, 2011 1:07:17 AM

Hi guys,

I have a cooler master elite 430 cabinet with a Phenom II x4 955 BE 3.2 ghz cpu. I have also bought the cooler master hyper 212 plus cooler for it with Arctic Silver 5 thermal paste but the problem is I am getting high temps even at idle. My temps at idle are 37 degrees and the chasis temps are 31 degrees.

I have installed cooler master 120mm case fans:

1 120mm (front intake)
1 120mm (side intake)
1 120mm (bottom intake)
1 120mm (top exhaust)
1 120mm Scythe Kaze Zyuni 1900rpm high speed fan (rear exhaust)
1 cooler master hyper 212 plus on the CPU

Please tell me If I need to change anything!!!!! I am really worried as I need to overclock my CPU. Before that I need to get my temps down.

More about : high temps phenom 955

April 2, 2011 1:12:10 AM

I checked the voltage using the CPU-Z. the voltage is 1.344 and within a few seconds. it changes to 1.36. I don't know what is going on.

However, I have changed the voltage manually to 1.30 under the bios settings but this did not affect my temps. They are still at 37 degrees.
m
l
April 2, 2011 4:32:28 AM

I used Arctic Silver 5. First I filled the gaps between the gaps on the hyper 212 plus heat sink. Then I drew two lines on the heat sink and then thinly evened the surface of the cpu with the paste and then fit the heat sink. Was that wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

and one more thing, the temps in my city is 36 degrees celcius (summer).
m
l
Related resources
April 2, 2011 5:21:25 AM

filled the gaps means as I am using a cooler master hyper 212 plus heatsink, there would be small gaps between the heatsink's surface and the copper heat pipe's. So I filled them with the thermal paste and then drew two lines on the heatsink's surface and also evened the paste on the cpu evenly.