Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
  • Intel i7
  • Hewlett Packard
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Overclocking
April 2, 2011 6:38:06 PM

I have never overclocked before. I have an HP computer that I have been upgrading. I have gotten a new case (HAF 922) but that's about it. I want to overclock my i7-920 to a stable overclock that is in the range of 3.6Ghz to 3.8Ghz.

Here are my specs:

Intel i7 920 2.67Ghz
9GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Three 2GB sticks and three 1GB sticks)
Nvidia GTX 260 1.8GB Memory

I realize I am going to need to buy a new motherboard if I want to overclock because the HP board has no overclocking abilities. I am new to this so I would like your guys help in picking a motherboard and then using the BIOS settings to overclock the CPU. I would like a motherboard that will help me overclock easy and one that has 2 PCIe x 16 slots. Thats my only must haves on the Mobo.

I have tried reading some guides but I always get confused when they have to lower the clock rate of the ram and pci and stuff because the guide they have doesn't directly apply to me because rthey use 1600Mhz ram. Please remember I have 1066Mhz ram.

So just to wrap everything up I need help picking a motherboard and then I need help with what settings to change to get me a good stable overclock with not much extra heat. Thanks for your help.[

More about : overclocking intel 920 newb

Related resources
a b à CPUs
April 2, 2011 6:51:56 PM

Hm, check around Newegg for the Mobo, it doesn't have to be that one, any Mobo with two PCIE x16 or 2.0 should work, I can't help with the OC problem as I've never OC' myself and won't until I get my new PC.
m
l
April 2, 2011 6:53:19 PM

Ok well thanks for the help. I'll just have to wait for someone to help me with the overclocking settings.
m
l
April 2, 2011 7:49:44 PM

how does your GTX 260 have 1.8 gigs of memory...?
m
l
April 2, 2011 8:24:28 PM