SSDs, RAID 0, RST drivers, Trim....

JS_24

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2011
Greetings,

I am new to computer building and wanted to ask for advice regarding my storage set-up.

I am thinking about using 2x Crucial c300 64Gb SSDs on a raid0 array at 6Gb/s for my OS and program files and using a larger capacity HDD for data storage. Will be building on an Intel P67 Motherboard and using the computer for gaming.

Questions:

1.) I know that TRIM is not enabled while operating SSDs in Raid 0. Can you enable TRIM on a raid 0 array by downloading the Intel RST drivers?

2.) Is garbage collection an effective alternative to TRIM, and will it keep the drives from eventually degrading?

3.) Am I better off using 1x 128GB SSD for my boot drive and forgetting about a RAID 0 configuration?

LordConrad

Distinguished
Here is my two cents:

1) I believe TRIM is built into the Operating System, not the drivers. The drivers just pass the commands from the OS along to the drive (the Intel RST drivers do this faster than the MS drivers).

2) If you can't have TRIM, you definitely want Garbage Collection. GC is handled strictly inside the drive without need for OS support so it should work in RAID setups, but I am not certain.

3)For a boot drive, I would want the reliability of a single drive over the speed and uncertainty of a RAID 0 setup. RAID 0 is best for high-speed temporary storage (such as video editing).

MRFS

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2008
> Can you enable TRIM on a raid 0 array by downloading the Intel RST drivers?

No.

http://www.intel.com/support/chipsets/imsm/sb/CS-031491.htm

Intel® Rapid Storage Technology 9.6 supports TRIM in AHCI mode and in RAID mode for drives that are not part of a RAID volume.

A defect was filed to correct the information in the Help file that states that TRIM is supported on RAID volumes.

[end quote]

p.s. With AHCI enabled, it may be possible to enable a software RAID 0,
using the software RAID support in Windows; however, you cannot boot