First Watercooling Attempt.

orangejuice789

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2011
I am looking to make a CPU only loop and have a few questions.

I have a mid tower case and an i7 950, with room only for 2 single 120mm rads inside (w/ no case mods).

If I pick up two 120mm slim Black Ice rads (this would be best for me as i would not have to do any external work), will that be enough to cool my CPU at a substantial overclock? If it will not be enough i will most likely pick up a 360mm rad mounted externally.

I am also curious as to whether or not a 750 lph (12.5 lpm) (3.3 gpm) pump/res combo fitting in 2 5.25" drive bay slots is enough for the 2 120mm setup or the one 360mm setup?

Finally, if i do spring for the 360 externally, are there any generally good ways to externally mount a radiator? I have a coolermaster storm scout case, and seeing as it has plateau-like bumps on either side of the case mounting could become an issue.

I will also likely be upgrading to include graphics cards, more rads, and potentially a 2 loop system in the future.

Any tips or suggestions are much appreciated!

rubix_1011

Contributing Writer
Are you talking about the XSPC Rasa kit? That would do well for you, if that is what you are asking.

Black Ice rads are typically high FPI (fin per inch) rads that need high CFM/static pressure fans to optimize their full potential. There are other rads that are better suited for cheaper, lower CFM fans.

Are you talking about each 120mm rad mounted separately? Is there not room in the top for a single 2x120mm rad? If you are planning to go with GPUs + more rads later, you might consider a different case. Typically, you want to have at least 2x120 worth of radiator space per CPU and GPU. CPU+ 2 card SLI/Crossfire; you are looking at three 2x120mm rads or two 3x120mm rads just to keep it cool. Overclocking your CPU and GPUs? Might consider more or other radiator options (XSPC RX rads come to mind).