Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking stores?

Last response: in Overclocking
April 6, 2011 1:54:45 PM

Hi,
I need to try OC my I7 920 since every game i play is using 95+ of my CPU the whole time, to get the full use out of my dual 570s i want to overclock till i save enough cash to maybe get a new better CPU.
Anyone know of any stores who will install a new cooler, and overclock my CPU for me?
Every store i have been to refuse to OC my CPU for obvious reasons, i just don't want to do it myself because i have never done it before and am scared i will damage something.
Which aftermarket cooler would you recommend?
What is a good price for one too?
TX in Auburn had a massive one for $100 bucks.
Also, what is the recommended temperature for a I7 to be running in idle and under load?
My CPU only uses the standard fan ATM, so i need to get a new fan but need to find someone to do it for me.
Thanks.

More about : overclocking stores

a c 280 K Overclocking
a c 158 à CPUs
April 6, 2011 2:40:13 PM

1- If you CPU use rise until 95%, then you have a problem.
2- Why not do it yourself? You learn and save money in that way.
3- What budget for the cooler? $30 for a Hyper 212+ or $90 for a NH-D14.
4- idle temps and load temps depends of your ambient temp, what temps are your getting?
a b K Overclocking
a b à CPUs
April 6, 2011 3:34:47 PM

I realize your scared of messing something up because i was the same back when i first started getting into this.Their are plenty of videos on youtube that will tell you how to do anything computer realted.You can also ask around because many people will help you work it out.

I would reccomend the NH-D14 but thats more of a advanced cooler for extreme O.C.ing and i don't think your quite ready for that yet.Start with something simple like a Hyper212+ or the Xigmatek SD128264 Aegir.Both of those coolers are very good cooler from an entry level perspective.And will give you a lot better results than your current stock heatsink.