Help on my first overclock

tostitos

Distinguished
Apr 8, 2011
Hello, Ive been looking for a way to oc a core i7 870 on my dh55hc but i had no had any success so Im making a thread asking for a little help. Im pretty new to overclocking, iv been researching for a while but i have not attempted it yet. Is it possible for me to reach a 4ghz OC or the max oc i can get on this specs? Also i have an corsair h50
my spec are
cpu: core i7 870
mobo: dh55hc
Ram: patriot g series 1333, dram frequency running @ 531mhz(for some reason i don't know why, or if this is the correct speed it should be)

It's DDR (Double Data Rate) Ram, so 531MHz means 1062, which is approximately 1066. The default speed for DDR3 is usually 1066 if you don't manually adjust settings, so that sounds right.

1333MHz RAM can be limiting if you don't have an unlocked processor like Intel "K" series and AMD "Black Edition". You say you've been researching. I assume you know about the base clock and the multiplier.

Your multiplier is locked, so you can only increase speed by adjusting the base clock. The RAM and the Uncore (non-core parts of CPU, which I think might include northbridge?) both run off of the same base clock as the CPU so you have to adjust them so they don't run too fast and crash.

Nehalem is a bit trickier to overclock than most because instead of the simple Step 1 - find max CPU speed, Step 2 - Adjust RAM settings, you also have the Uncore there. And you have to decide whether to get your Core or your Uncore first. People say different things. You can try both, but that'll take longer.

Oh...dh55hc is made by Intel. You typically can't OC with Intel boards. If you're lucky, I'm wrong. Hopefully your board's an exception.

trihedral

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2008
you can hit 4.0ghz but it's going to be a little difficult.

Your ram 1333, you can get to 4.0 easier if it were 1600.