Sign in with
Your question

Building vs. Buying

Last response: in Components
August 30, 2009 1:59:05 PM

I was recently going to buy a Dell System but the H2C cooling has been discontinue on the 730 models. (For Now) So I went to Alienware to look at their systems. I found one, I am interested in, but I use to build my own pcs, but I would like one with a good cooling system. (I have no experience in coolings system, like TEC or etc). I dont mind spending extra for better equipment. Here is the laydown from Alienware and I want to make it either better or the same. Thanks for any help.

[1] ALX® X58

Processor: Overclocked Intel® Core™ i7-975 Extreme 3.86 GHz 8MB Cache
Alienware P2 Chassis: Alienware® P2 ALX Chassis with AlienIce™ 3.0 Video Cooling - Space Black
AlienFX®: Alienware® AlienFX® System Lighting - Astral Blue
Alienware P2 Chassis Upgrades: Alienware® High-Performance Liquid Cooling + Acoustic Dampening
Power Supply: Alienware® 1200 Watt Multi-GPU Approved Power Supply
Graphics Processor: Dual 1,792 MB NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 295
Memory: 6GB DDR3 SDRAM at 1600MHz - 3 x 2048MB
Motherboard: Alienware® Approved Intel® X-58 Motherboard- Socket 1366 Core i7 Ready, Dual Triple Channel DDR3 Memory
Operating System (Office software not included): Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium (64-bit Edition) with Service Pack 1 plus Free Windows 7 Upgrade Option
System Drive: Extreme Performance (RAID 0) - 1TB (2 x 500GB) SATA 3Gb/s 7,200RPM 2 x 16MB Cache
Optical Drives : Dual Drive Configuration - Drive 1: 20X Dual Layer Burner (DVD±RW) w/ LightScribe
Drive 2:6x Dual Layer Blu-ray Burner (BD-RE, DVD±RW, CD-RW)
Enthusiast Essentials: Dual High Performance Gigabit Ethernet Ports
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster® X-Fi™ Titanium High Definition 7.1 Audio

More about : building buying

August 30, 2009 2:15:28 PM