Sign in with
Your question

HTPC in Xbox (orig.) case

Last response: in Systems
May 26, 2009 5:44:18 PM

I am building a new HTPC and found an old Xbox case in my basement which got me thinking. Would it be possible to fit an entire HTPC in an original Xbox enclosure? I am an experienced system builder, but have never used a custom case. Has anyone tried this / know someone who has?

I'm planning on using a Zotac ITX motherboard which is 6.7" x 6.7" (smaller than the Xbox motherboard). One thing that concerns me is the power supply. It needs to be very narrow. Has anyone encountered this problem / situation with a PC build?

Thoughts welcome.

More about : htpc xbox orig case

a b B Homebuilt system
May 27, 2009 5:40:28 PM

Sounds like an interesting project. Keep us updated on your progress. For a power supply, you could probably go with a picoPSU. You can find a good selection at this website:

http://www.mini-box.com/
Related resources
May 27, 2009 5:57:06 PM

It could definitely be done....sounds like a neat idea as i have three xboxs in my room atm...one is softmodded and one is stock...one is stock and broken...

I must admit the xbox is one hell of an awesome console to do emulation on....did i mention that the 360 SUCKSSS...so keep us posted
May 27, 2009 6:18:25 PM

rwpritchett said:
Sounds like an interesting project. Keep us updated on your progress. For a power supply, you could probably go with a picoPSU. You can find a good selection at this website:

http://www.mini-box.com/

Thanks! That site has some great stuff. Now I just need to make sure the processor I use only needs 1 4-pin power plug. The E8400 i was going to use requires 2 I think. But a lower power processor may need just 1.

Here's what I plan to put into it if anyone's interested.

Processor: Intel E7400 2.8 GHz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Motherboard: ZOTAC GF9300-D-E LGA 775 NVIDIA GeForce 9300 HDMI Mini ITX

RAM: 2x1GB OCZ platinum

HDD: tbd