HTPC in Xbox (orig.) case

dravis12

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2009
I am building a new HTPC and found an old Xbox case in my basement which got me thinking. Would it be possible to fit an entire HTPC in an original Xbox enclosure? I am an experienced system builder, but have never used a custom case. Has anyone tried this / know someone who has?

I'm planning on using a Zotac ITX motherboard which is 6.7" x 6.7" (smaller than the Xbox motherboard). One thing that concerns me is the power supply. It needs to be very narrow. Has anyone encountered this problem / situation with a PC build?

Thoughts welcome.

rewindlabs

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2009
It could definitely be done....sounds like a neat idea as i have three xboxs in my room atm...one is softmodded and one is stock...one is stock and broken...

I must admit the xbox is one hell of an awesome console to do emulation on....did i mention that the 360 SUCKSSS...so keep us posted

dravis12

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2009

Thanks! That site has some great stuff. Now I just need to make sure the processor I use only needs 1 4-pin power plug. The E8400 i was going to use requires 2 I think. But a lower power processor may need just 1.

Here's what I plan to put into it if anyone's interested.

Processor: Intel E7400 2.8 GHz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115206

Motherboard: ZOTAC GF9300-D-E LGA 775 NVIDIA GeForce 9300 HDMI Mini ITX
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813500022

RAM: 2x1GB OCZ platinum

HDD: tbd

Optical: Laptop slimline DVD/CD combo (w/ adapter to standard ATA)

I also plan to connect the front LEDs up to power/hdd activity and use the original power button of course. Haven't decided what to use the eject button for yet.

dravis12

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2009

Interesting. It looks like I would have to use either Ion/Atom which I'm not crazy about doing. Neat that they embed the power though.

dravis12

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2009