Chiggidy

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2010
Excuse the ignorance, but bc of these threads i am quite enthused with the amount that one can learn from others questions... I understand that is the point of forums, however i have been less than impressed until i found this site. Sorry, on to the question. I know it is not recommended, however I am taking a tower i am building to afghanistan with me. Now bc i am americian army, we have to buy the satelite for the internet. I have the capability and the room to cool, 4x 2tb in my tower comfortably. Now I am not expecting this set up to run forever. When i return from this tour, i am going to buy a nas. The attempt is to put the 4x 2tb as a "share drive" for the other 9 on my internet connection. Should I just jbod it or should i not risk it and do a raid 5?? I am new to true mass storage... well multiple drive storage anyway, so any imput is welcome. I will say that the "array" will be read mostly, not write... Once i write the information, it will stay, and the acess to it will be read. No one but i will be allowed to write to it.

Solution
RAID5 has the advantage that, if one drive fails, all of your data is still accessible.

JBOD has the advantage that it is much simpler.

If the RAID controller itself fails, mounting the RAID5 disks on another one can be a chancy thing if you don't have another of the same kind of controller.

So you have to consider what risks you want to avoid. JBOD disks can be pulled out and used in any other machine if the machine fails, but will lose data if the drive fails. RAID5 will lose nothing if one drive fails, but be a real pain in the a** if the controller fails.
RAID5 has the advantage that, if one drive fails, all of your data is still accessible.

JBOD has the advantage that it is much simpler.

If the RAID controller itself fails, mounting the RAID5 disks on another one can be a chancy thing if you don't have another of the same kind of controller.