SSD boot drive & RAID-0 Storage setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

JackMomma

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2009
Hello all,
I am a fairly practiced builder who is messing with my first RAID setup, and my first SSD experience simultaniously and may have bitten off more than I could chew.

What I want to do is set up my Crucial C300 SATAIII 64gb drive as a boot drive, and my two Segate Barracuda ST3500418AS 500gb SATAII drives as storage in RAID-0. I am doing this with a new setup on an ASUS Sabertooth x58 board with an Intel ICH10R SATAII controller and a Marvell SATAIII controller. I have properly configured the SATA II RAID setup, and have made the SATAIII C300 drive visible to the Windows 7 start up utility (trying for a fresh install of windows 7, nothing on the drives currently). I have attempted to click the C300 and begin the Windows 7 install, but it hangs anytime I attempt to start. I have attempted to tweak some settings, but now it won't go past the 'loading windows' screen without an error.

I have played with this for hous and don't know what to do. I am about to clear out the CMOS and try it all again. I just want to hear that this is possible, and any suggestions for ASUS BIOS settings for tweaks I should make.

The only part that is really making me wonder if this is possible or not is the MAIN setting in BIOS where you set the SATA configuration. I have to set it to RAID for my raid array to work, but I can't go into my Marvell settings and adjust anything because it thinks my C300 is part of a RAID configuration. If anyone has any tips, feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Solution
I would image the reason that Windows install didn't see the SSD drive is that it needed a "third party" driver for the Marvell SATA 6.0Gb/s controller. It should be on the driver CD from the motherboard. You can also download it from Asus. You should be able to "add" this driver furing the Win 7 install, when it askes you where to install the OS.