Sign in with
Your question

Computer Display showing Snow

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
June 16, 2009 2:02:09 AM

Hey All,

I have an issue that originally seemed like a general freezing thermal issue, and now I am completely unsure what to think.

First off, the system:
ASUS P5NE-SLI
Intel C2D 6600
XFX Nvidia 8600 GT
Samsung 300GB HD
Thermaltake 600W PSU
6 WD HDs, 5 250s, 1 400
1 Maxtor HD 250
Thermaltake Armor LCS case (water block on the CPU only)
1 Acer 19" monitor and 1 23" monitor both on DVI
Windows XP SP3

I have been using this rig for over 2 years with no issues. I have played Crysis, CoD 4 and 5, FEAR 1 & 2, BF 2142 and countless other "demanding" games. Today, I got home from work (my computer had been on since last thursday) and fired up World of Warcraft to play. Almost immediately after logging in, on my second monitor I noticed some "artifacts" around my ventrilo window. I didn't think much of it, I hadn't seen them before, but it wasn't a big deal.

I joined a party, queued for a battleground and started playing. I was guarding a point so I was watching at long range (my GFX settings are all turned to low except view range which is set to max). I noticed that textures at long range were malfunctioning (looking blue and red). I had some other issues (UI having texture problems) and reloaded the in game UI. This only made things worse, and not long after the computer appeared to freeze and shut down. I reset the computer, booted back up and logged back in. I barely made it back in game before I had issues again with the textures. I reset again, booted up and started to run some diagnostics on the computer.