My system crashes when I play MW2

So the short story is that my PC completely shuts down instantly (and usually reboots) after I play MW2 (and CoD4:MW) for about 15-20 minutes. It doesn't crash when I play WoW though. Here are my system specs

Gigabyte motherboard (not sure exact model)
AMD Phenom II 3.0GHz x4 (Recently upgraded from AMD Athlon 64 x2 2.5GHz)
GeForce xfx 8800 GT graphics
Windows 7 x64

I've been using this comp for a while and didn't have this problem when I ran CoD:MW on Windows XP. After I upgraded to Windows 7 and a few weeks before MW2 came out I started playing CoD4:MW again and started seeing this problem, but I ignored it until I got MW2. But I have the same problem in MW2

One of the things I noticed at first is that when the computer doesn't immediately reboot after a crash, I have to switch off the supply and let it sit for a while before I power back up, to me this suggests a circuit breaker maybe tripping (dunno what to do about that).

I've been running speedfan to monitor my temperatures. My graphics card typically sits at around 78-85C (this has always been the case and seems to be fine). My new CPU is now at about 57C (old one was 42C). Temp1 and Temp2 are nominal, in the 40's. Temp3 hung out at 85-92C until last night (it only got to 90C in WoW, 92 in MW2). Temp3 seems to correspond to a chip that sits between my CPU and graphics card which can get quite hot to the touch.

Last night I upgraded the CPU and decided while I had the case open to replace the thermal paste with the superior Arctic Silver brand paste. While I played WoW for 4.5 hours last night, temp3 sat at 104C all night and didn't seem to be a problem at all (no crashes or anything). The heatsink on it didn't seem as hot, so I think there may be something wrong with the way I applied the paste. When I played MW2, it crashed after about 15 minutes. So the increased temperature didn't seem to affect the problem at all.