Sign in with
Your question

Gigabytes P67A-UD7-B3 Sandy Bridge Overclock

Last response: in Overclocking
April 13, 2011 11:48:54 PM

Hi Im new to OC and Im trying to OC my new i7 2600k
I have a Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3

I can change the multiplier to 42x but I cant go higher then that. I would like to get to 4.5ghz . How do I change the multiplier higher??

also when I run pime95 I get 3.9ghz even though the multiplier is 42x
Im useing cup-z and real temp
April 14, 2011 2:48:18 AM

JJ Stone said:
Hi Im new to OC and Im trying to OC my new i7 2600k
I have a Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3

I can change the multiplier to 42x but I cant go higher then that. I would like to get to 4.5ghz . How do I change the multiplier higher??

also when I run pime95 I get 3.9ghz even though the multiplier is 42x
Im useing cup-z and real temp

Start Here: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/265056-29-2600k-2500k...

This will get u asking the right questions. ;) 
m
l
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
April 14, 2011 6:17:58 AM

If you are using the stock Intel cooler that came with the CPU, stop overclocking and reset the CPU speed back to stock. You need an after-market cooler to control the increased temps from overclocking. If you've already got one, great.
m
l
Related resources
a c 199 à CPUs
a c 145 K Overclocking
April 14, 2011 5:32:36 PM

Look here to see the 2600k running at 4.6 GHz on the stock cooler.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/asus-sabertooth-p67-tuf-r...

Here's the steps they took but I have not found it necessary to change the TDP either (in other words, ya can skip step 2).

Quote:
1 Leave baseclock for what it is right now
2 If optional in the BIOS, increase the TDP limit of your processor to 200 Watts
3 With a 2600K set your base multiplier at 34
4 And now set the per core multiplier at a maximum of your liking, we applied an MP of 46 on all four cores
5 Increase CPU voltage, though setting AUTO might work fine, we applied 1.35V