All fans seem to be on, no visual on monitor, no POST beeps, workedB4

hwing91

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2007
My friend, who lives in California (I live in Georgia so theres nothing I can do besides what i've told him), recently decided to upgrade his new computer. I am a computer technician at a local computer store and for the life of me, I cannot figure out what is wrong anymore. If anyone could offer assistance and read through this LONG, horrible post (sorry, just wanted to encompass every small detail), and give me your 2 cents, I would be indebted to you for life...

The beginning of this horror.
My friend wanted to upgrade his computer so he could play more intensive games. Long story short, he bought new parts that I told him to...He has had no experience in computer building except installing video cards, power supplies, and ram.

He had a motherboard with an AMD dual core and 2gb of DDR1 RAM installed (This isn't too important, read on.).

These are the new parts he purchased:
New Antec Case
EVGA 9800GTX 512MB GDDR3
OCZ 550w (I would say true 600w, Dual Railing 12v1@25a 12v2@25a)

He moved his motherboard and everything into the new case, installed, nothing booted(Well, all the fans turned on, but nothing showed on his screen). He reseeded everything, by everything, I mean CPU, HSF, RAM, ALL peripherals. It started working. This was a month ago. After that, each OTHER time he had to start up his computer, he had to reseed everything, and it WOULD start on the screen...but after each time he did that, it was harder and harder to get his computer to work.

Eventually it stopped working all together...and thats when I told him to test out his PSU in another computer...it worked.

I next told him to test out his 9800GTX in a friend's computer...it worked..

I told him to uninstall everything new, use his old powersupply, and put it back in his old case.