Sign in with
Your question

Mobo/PSU Compatibility

Last response: in Components
September 2, 2009 7:46:41 AM

I'm driving myself crazy trying to make sure that everything about a computer I am building, the first one, is absolutely flawless. I know a good deal about hardware, but I'm still a bit of a novice when it comes to the Power Supplies, and I just need to know how to find out if a Motherboard and a PSU are compatible. The motherboard I'm going with says that the Power Pin is a 24 Pin, and the Power Supply says that is a 20+4 Pin. I'm pretty sure that the 20+4 pin is the same as a 24 pin, just with the last 4 pins on a separate strand so that the PSU is compatible with older MoBo's, but I'm not entirely sure.

So if someone would like to take a quick look at this, that would be great. Motherboard
Power Supply

Also, while I have a thread open, I need to know another quick little question that I just thought of, and forgive me if I start to ramble, I'm tired :) . This is the case I'll be using, but I have no idea if all the cords are there that it would need, and I don't even know what those cords are exactly. Thanks guys for any feedback.

More about : mobo psu compatibility

a b ) Power supply
a c 435 V Motherboard
September 2, 2009 10:28:01 AM

For a modest occassional gaming rig with low to mid range video card, the corsair 400w for $39.99 after rebate with free shipping (newegg.com) will work fine. For hardcore gaming, go with the 650w corsair ($89.99 after rebate).
m
l
a b ) Power supply
a b V Motherboard
September 2, 2009 12:03:51 PM

Yes, the Antec Earthwatts 650 will work just fine with any current motherboard.
And yes, a 20+4 pin connector offers compatibility with current 24 pin motherboards as well as older 20 pin motherboards.

Between the PSU, motherboard and case you should have all the cables you need.