How important is XMP support with RAM?

nmatthis

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2009
I read the Tom's Hardware article comparing 6GB DDR2 3-channel kits and what I got out of it was that the best value was the Mushkin DDR3 1600Mhz RAM which was rated a close #3 in overclocking performance yet only costs about $150, about half of the top performer (Kingston HyperX). But the Mushkin memory does not support XMP. Now, my current system is over 5 years old and I'm just learning the newest stuff, but how important is XMP? I do intend to overclock my new system, but it's not going to be hardcore. But will XMP save me a lot of headaches trying to get the memory timings correct? Is XMP just something in the BIOS that reads a chip on the RAM and the chip tells the BIOS all of the timings to achieve a certain speed? Any help appreciated. Thanks.

Neal

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff

XMP can set your DRAM data rate, basic timings and memory bus voltage via 2-3 switches in BIOS. It still requires you to choose an XMP profile however, and it's nothing more than an "automatic overclocking" tool.

If you can read the specifactions of the module, you can easily set it up manually in BIOS.

Is XMP just something in the BIOS that reads a chip on the RAM and the chip tells the BIOS all of the timings to achieve a certain speed?

That pretty well sums it up. If you are overclocking then you are in the BIOS and should know or learn enough to handle those settings yourself.

xthekidx

Splendid
Dec 24, 2008
XMP is Ram OC'ing for noobs. People who really want to push their systems to get the most performance don't use it. Its more of a guaranteed setting that the ram will overclock to, that is the way I think of it anyway.

nmatthis

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2009
So it sounds like XMP is kind of a profile saved on the RAM that tells the BIOS; 'set the memory times to 7,8,7,20,42 and voltage to 1.65 to achieve 1066Mhz', correct?

Neal

xthekidx

Splendid
Dec 24, 2008