How can I use my old HDD with my new SSD?

ad5os

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2011
Hi gang,

This is what I got.
I have a 750G HDD with a lot of professional video and audio programs installed. I have quite a lot of personal files under User. I also have an external HDD dock that I use to store project files. I bought a small 64gig SSD for my OS drive and to run some native 64bit programs. I am using win 7 64bit ultimate. 6G of ram.

This is what I want

to reinstall windows 7 on the new ssd then keep my x86 programs and user directory on the 750G.

Is this possible? any programs or how to's out there.

I have already tried a program called Paragon migrate os to ssd. But it's buggy and takes FOREVER!!!! I'd rather just install windows and use some other program to link to the other hd.

I have been using this station for a few years and it has been good to me that I would rather upgrade it than just buy a new computer, especially since when I went to buy a new sandy bridge yesterday and they told me the motherboards are being recalled. anyway i digress.. I just need my windows os and adobe CS5 suite on the SSD really.. I guess I can just reinstall everything but I literally have like 100 programs and plugins already installed. :(

any help would be greatly appreciated!

AD5OS

I'll try to end this with a link to another discussion on the subject. You might search the forum; this is not an uncommon topic.

Reinstall Win7 on the new SSD is spot-on. It's a good idea to unplug all the SSDs when you do this, to make sure that BIOS can boot directly from the SSD and not need a boot manager on the HDD to start.

You can configure Win7 to keep My Documents on another drive; it should be as easy as right-clicking on My Documents once it's created (but empty) and changing the Properties. There is also a policy that can be set in the registry to move all new My Documents folders, but I don't know how to do this.