Can't overclock i7 920 over 3ghz??

I have Gigabyte EX58-UD5 motherboard with i7 920 processor. I am a newbie in overclocking, but looking at some guides, I managed to overclock from 2.66 ghz to 3 ghz by changing the BCLK in the bios from 133 to 150.

I just got a new fan and power and though that I could overclock this processor much more, but if I go over 150 BCLK, when I start the computer, it shuts down straight away. When it goes on again it goes back to stock GHZ, goes on the bios and says something like 'there was change in voltage settings reset to defaults' etc...

Does anyone have any idea what might be the problem here? My cooler fan is Noctua.
7 answers Last reply
More about overclock 3ghz
  1. Well it actually says 'The system has experienced boot failures because of overclocking or changes in voltage'.

It's strange as everybody says that I should be able to overclock up to 3.4 ghz by just changing the BLCK, but anything above 3ghz (150 blck) causes this issue.

Perhaps I don't have enough thermal grease on my cpu?
  2. Ok. Updated the BIOS of my motherboard, and now it lets me go higher :)

I have now overclocked from 2.66 ghz -> 3.2 ghz with everything on AUTO settings, just by changing the BCLK.

Seems stable so far so I think I will stay here, I don't dare to overclock any more as I don't really know what I am doing..
  3. It's a bit strange but my Processor runs a bit hot even I have latest Noctua fan installed.
    Idle temp in all cores is 58 degrees. I played crysis 2 for half an hour (after overclocking to 3.4ghz) and then coretemp shut down my computer automatically. I have set it to shut down automatically at 90 degrees (core temp), so got a bit scared and downclocked back to 3.2ghz.

However from the bios I have set it so that my computer will alarm if the processor temp goes to 80 degrees, so it cannot be that bad can it as I didn't hear the alarm?