Closed

Planning on buying an AMD Phenom II x2 565 Black Edition and Overclocking.

Hello, I'm planning on buying an AMD Phenom II x2 565 Black Edition for my desktop.
My mobo is: N-Alvorix-RS880-uATX and its TDP limit is 95W.
Since this Phenom II among a few others have an 80W, it would fit since I really dont have any more money for a new mobo.
This one in particular runs at 3.4ghz clock speed but I would like to overclock it to either 3.7 or 3.8 ghz. I would really like some assistance.
All I'm trying to do is run pcsx2 and Dolphin emulator at full speed with native resolution. No slow downs. Not really asking for alot and if 3.4 is able to satisfy my needs, I might not overclock but if it dosent. I would like 3.8ghz to be my max. (I think 4.0ghz is overkill for me. :p)
Any help or advice would be appreciated. I'm a newbie at this overclocking thing.
16 answers Last reply
More about planning buying phenom black edition overclocking
  1. Just raise the multiplier in the BIOS. 4.0Ghz is pretty easy for most of the PIIx2 even on the dinky stock heatsink, so don't think it's overkill. What's your graphics card? That might be a limitation. Also if you can, pick up the 555 if you want to shave off a few dollars. The clock differences really don't matter when you overclock.
  2. Hi and welcome to Tom's forum.

Read this: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/258573-29-black-edition-overclock-guide-raising-multiplier

If you need more help, let me know.
  3. therandomuser said:
    Just raise the multiplier in the BIOS. 4.0Ghz is pretty easy for most of the PIIx2 even on the dinky stock heatsink, so don't think it's overkill. What's your graphics card? That might be a limitation. Also if you can, pick up the 555 if you want to shave off a few dollars. The clock differences really don't matter when you overclock.