P5n-SLI with radeon x1650 pro

chun86

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2009
Hello knowledgeable experts,

I've had my rig for about a year now I put everything together myself. I'm a fan of computers and computer technology but I am in no way a pro. I bought my current motherboard(p5nsli, something similar to this - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131032 ) and a radeon x1650pro video card( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102073 ). I was planning to eventually get another of the same video card but I read on the sticky that crossfire technology cant really work with SLI boards?

Is there possibly some way around this? I am a complete newbie but if anyone can help me with this question, please let me know.

chun86

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2009
So if I were to do dual video cards, It would be best for me to get geforce video cards?

Additional question: would i need extra cooling with the extra video card?

rewindlabs

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2009

Geforce is nvidia...you have to get nividia/geforce....and cooling depends on the case and what fans you already have :non: ...how are we supposed to answer that...

Why yes get this you may need an extra fan if you run your pc in a closed no ventilation cardboard box....give use your case info...

I run my systems with the side panels off...keeps things cool and saves 10$ worth of fans...and tape...

And what do you mean extra video card?...you should just buy one strong card as an upgrade...

chun86

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2009
Sorry I wasn't quite clear before. I have a Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 2gig. I curse the fact that I enjoy playing computer games and using photoshop as I am a budget spender. I figured that as a budget spender, purchasing a SLI board would be appropriate as it would allow me to purchase an alright video card to begin with and then when I have the funds, purchase a compatible second video card to maximize performance.