H60..Adequate for OC'ing...i7 2600k?

gainiac

Distinguished
Apr 13, 2011
I found this test concerning the H60:

http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=29609&page=1

Seems to be that the H60 is a solid contender versus the GIGANTIC air cooled solutions. Lower profile and possibly quieter?

Does the i7 980x run much hotter then the i7 2600k?

From what I understand the 2600K should be a much cooler running CPU overall.

The reason I ask is I'm going to be doing my own OC for the first time and I'd like to get to some moderate/aggressive cycles. If the 2600K is indeed a cooler running architecture then it would seem the H60 is fairly adequate for cooling?

Another concern of mine is noise. So with the idea of moving enough air quietly being a driver I'm going to be using the Corsair 600T case. From what I understand the large 200mm's are relatively quiet yet have excellent static pressures.

Regarding the fans on the H60....I've heard the 70 can be quite noisy so I am prepared to fit the radiator with aftermarket fans. I haven't quite settled on which ones....These seem to be an excellent contendor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835999007

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Solution

all this small factor LC/AIR coolers come with high density (FPI~fins per inch) rad's which require high CFM/RPM/good static pressure..it's been proven time and time again that 1400RPM just won't cut it , actually 1700 RPM fans that this unit comes with is the slowest one out of all H series i think,if you want to experiment with slower fans on this unit i would suggest cheap pair of YATE LOON D12SL-12 (very close to GT's);
http://www.jab-tech.com/YATE-LOON-120mm-Case-Fan-D12SL-12-pr-3009.html
but...

joytech22

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2008
My 2600 is running (stock speeds) idle at 34C, and under prolonged 100% load it's only ever hit the high 50-s, and low 60's on a Corsair H50.