destiny_driven

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2009
I am a newbie doing my first build. I have prepared myself by watching many videos and reading what ever I could find on wiring the case from the PSU to the various components. However, I didn't plan to find what I have run into.

I have purchased a COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP ATX Mid Tower Computer Case and a CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply. The Corsair PSU has some very impressive thick black cables to distribute the power. However, once I opened the case, I have found an entire wire harness of thinner wires running to fans, USB connections, etc.

The problems are:

1. There are so many cables that I am worried that I won't have enough air flow for an Intel I-7 920 running at 130 wats and a EVGA 017-P3-1295-AR CO-OP Edition GeForce GTX 295 1792MB 896 (448 x 2)-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card requiring a minimum of 680 watts of power. Although a Cooler Master V8 Nickel Plated Copper Base Aluminum Fins 8 Heatpipes Core i7 1366 CPU Cooler should help with the CPU heat.

2. It appears that Corsair went way overboard providing many more cables than needed and they are so thick that it will be extremely challenging to hide them, with the wire harness already behind the MOBO plate.

3. I am not sure what all of the cabling is for in the case. Cool Master drops the ball on their documentation. Basically, I could get more information from cave drawings. Cool Master seems more interested in providing their single sentence descriptions in 197 languages, than they are in actually providing helpful instruction to guide installation. No where in the technical documentation or on their website is the wire harness addressed.