Broken Motherboard and other advice desired

seycyrus

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2009
Hello, I’ve got a problem with an old system that I am trying to get going so I can use it as an old game server (3-5 friends). I have never done such a thing before and have questions about that as well, but … back to my broken computer.

It’s a Gateway GM5088, with an AMD 64 X2 4600+ chip. The motherboard is KTBC51GLF, which is a 939 socket.

The machine won’t boot. I have subsequently dismantled the system and laid it out on my table so that I can diagnose it.

When I power up, the fans surge-on and remain at that same level forever. I seem to recall that when the system previously booted up successfully, the fans would surge on for about 10 seconds, and then “settle down” to a lesser level. The blue LED that is on the front of the case does not light up like it used to either.

I have tested the power supply with a PS tester. The tester is a unit about the size of a deck of cards that you plug the outputs from the ps into. My ps passed the test (display on the tester said everything was in range).

The onboard speaker on the mobo does not give off any beeps or signals. I can hear it come to life (slight buzz) when I power up, but that’s it.

I know the cpu is getting power because I took the heat sink off and powered on/off for about a second, and it got warm.

I swapped some older RAM into the board with no improvement.
I checked the CMOS battery. It is good at 3.3V.

I think it is a pretty good guess that the motherboard is bad, which is apparently a known issue (Google search). Actually, looking at the reported track record of this board, I’m sort of amazed that it lasted as long as it did.

1) Any other suggestions on what else I might check?