Building a i7 Gaming/Computation Computer ($2500-3000 budget)

aerodc

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2009
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: By the end of June

BUDGET: $2500-3000

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: gaming, computation (engineering)

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: speakers, OS

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Any website is fine. I will browse all major computer parts website before the final purchase.

PARTS PREFERENCES: I prefer a mid-tower

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe in the future. SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Yes

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1200

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Must be capable of being overclocked in the future with only air cooling.

Here's the setup that I have selected so far. I've never built a computer before, so I am especially interested in recommendations/comments from more experienced builders.

CPU: $280 - Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz

Cooler: $80 - Noctua NH-U12P SE1366 120mm SSO CPU Cooler

MOBO: $280 - ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58

GPU: $680 - 2 x EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX 285 1GB

RAM: $82 - OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3

HDD: $100 - Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM
$120 - 2 x Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM

LCD: $300 - SAMSUNG T240HD Rose-Black 24" 5ms HDMI Widescreen

PSU: $240 - CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000W

Case: $140 - Antec Nine Hundred Two Black Steel ATX Mid Tower

Other:
Wireless adapter: $20 - Rosewill RNX-G1W IEEE 802.11b/g USB 2.0 Wireless
Keyboard: $90 - Logitech G15
Thermal Paste - $9 - ARCTIC COOLING MX-2
Speakers: Free - Logitech 530 Speakers (currently own)

Total: $2531

Fortunex

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2009
Looks good, but I wouldn't bother with the i7 940, and instead find an i7 920 with D0 stepping.

You may want to look at Sapphire's VaporX HD4890. It uses a good aftermarket cooler, which will allow for higher overclocks. I believe they also have an Atomic Edition 4890, which comes factory overclocked to 1GHz on the core.