I7 2600k/ASUS Sabertooth p67 I'm new to overclocking/wanting to learn.

spockfive

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2010
Hello:
I'm new to the hole overclocking seen. If any one would like to share there knowledge with me it would be much appreciated.

What I've been doing:
I have been timidly toying around with it but always end up putting it back to stock. I did follow step by step what a guy from ASUS was doing on newegg's YouTube channel and setting it to 4.8ghz but reverted it back to stock after seeing 2 of the 4 core temps get into the 80's after3 minutes of prime95.

I have also played around with ASUS windows side over clocking program and over clocked the CPU to 4.5ghz and ran prime95 on the small FFT setting for 25 minutes and the temps holding at 75c on two of the cores and 83c on the other two cores.

What I've been thinking about:
I went with the Noctua NH-C14 because of the case and mobo that I selected. Though I have been debating eBay-ing the board and going with the ASUS p67 pro or deluxe, but I don't know if it's worth the hassle...

Things that I would like to know:
1. Are there any good over clocking guides for the ASUS Sabertooth p67 and if not dose it have all the same functionality that the p67 pro and deluxe have when in the uEFI bios?
2. What are the safe VCORE voltages and what voltages generally correspond with 4.(x)ghz?
3. What are safe max temperatures for running prime95?
4. Should I run my mobo's phase array at it's maximum?
5. Is there any thing that I should know/bewared of that I haven't touched on?

*Note* I've seen a bunch of conflicting statements about temperatures and voltages online that all sound like hearsay.

My goals with this system:
I'm wanting to do a stable 4.4-4.8ghz overclock, actually run my ram at 1600mhz instead of 1333mhz, and eventually add a second GTX 580sc down the road (around the end of the year)

My build to date:
CPU: i7 2600k
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-C14
Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth p67