My First Build, Good or Bad?

alexrablau

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2009
Hello Everybody!

This is my first time posting on Tom's hardware and it looks like an amazing site. I want to build a nice computer for myself for the first time and have most of the components selected. I have done quite a bit of research on all the parts but would like to ask the Tom's hardware community a couple of questions.
Here is the build so far:

CPU: Intel Core i7 920

Motherboard: Asus P6T Deluxe V2

Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 275

RAM: Corsair Dominator DDR3 3x2GB 1600Mhz

Case: Cooler Mast HAF 932

First of all, the general question, what do you think so far?

Pertaining to the motherboard, is it worth getting the OC Palm edition?

I understand that the motherboard and processor would have to be overclocked to fully utilize the 1600Mhz memory. How difficult is it to do this, and where could I find a good guide to accomplishing this?

Is the case a good choice? I would like something that would keep my system relatively cool, and look nice, without being outrageously expensive.

What should I look at in the way of cooling (what are some good fans or water-cooling systems)?

Finally, what would be a good power supply for all this?

Thank you so much!

topper743

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2007
Get the cheaper one wo the palm and spend the difference on a good CPU HSF. Since you are relatively new to this don't do the water cooling yet. Down the road if you think you have to have it you could add it then.

smithereen

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2008
750W PCPaC is on sale for $110 at Newegg right now, that'd do the trick. Case is solid, as far as I know - I've never used one, but I've heard good things. It would be very easy to set the memory speed in the BIOS, no experience neccessary. Good luck with your build!

Katsushiro

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2008