Artifacted Text @ POST, CMOS Checksum Error

Chris152

Distinguished
Nov 27, 2009
Too long, Didn't read version:

CMOS Checksum Error, Artifacted Text at POST screen. Not GPU, Not PSU, Not CPU, Not cables, monitor, or connections. Possible memory problem but it would have to be affecting all 4 indentical sticks. However could be the case as all 4 sticks were subjected to electrically conductive liquid for weeks on end. To me, and I am no authority, it seems unlikely that 4 seperate modules, damaged or not, would produce identical artifacting and CMOS errors. I would expect, although I have no experience to really say, that one chip wouldn't POST, another might POST, another might give some random error, and another would... do something... else. Could be motherboard, but not in a position to replace it... RMA expired. Already replaced motherboard thinking it was the cause when it failed to even POST at all using the same leaked on memory.

System Specs:
EVGA nForce 790i SLI FTW
Intel Q9550
2 sets of 2x2-gig G.Skill DDR3-1600mhz (F3-12800CL7D-4GHBZ)
750w Rosewill modular PSU
8800GT 512mb PCI-E 2.0 verified to be working, and an ATI PCI VGA 64mb card verified to be working

Long Version:

Greetings, frustration compounds itself as my page long explanation of my issue was just swallowed up by the backspace key... an unfamiliar keyboard will do that to you!

Anyhow, generally I find the answer to my computer related questions via search engines but today is not the case.

I have a brand new EVGA nForce 790i SLU FTW motherboard that can POST, but most of the text is artifacted and unreadable. I can however read "CMOS Checksum Error, Defaults Used." There are no BIOS beeps.