Sign in with
Your question
Solved

E8500 wolfdale overclock with ddr2 ram and a 780i mobo

Last response: in Motherboards
November 27, 2009 8:35:40 PM

This is my first time with overclocking and was wondering if anyone could help me out. I really want to overclock to 3.6 or 3.8 ghz.... my specs are below, i have 1 graphics card right now (I know i'm not uitilizing the sli completely as of right now, but one graphics card is running well enough for me for today's games, i might add another sometime this year) I just ordered another 4 gb of the same type of sli ready memory (2 x 2gb). My 150gb WD raptor just died on me after a year of use, so I am in the process of doing an RMA for that, and I have ordered a new hard drive which will be arriving next week (WD black caviar 500gb 32mb cache). I want to overclock as soon as I get windows XP installed on this new Hard Drive next week, so any help would be greatly appreciated! I would like to use the programs CPU-Z and speedfan, I feel like I have read more about those and know more about these programs than others.

System Specs:

E8500 Wolfdale 3.16 ghz
EVGA nForce 780i Sli motherboard
nvidia geforce 8800 GT OC 512mb GDDR3 (bfg tech) (factory overclocked)
OCZ 4 gb (2 x 2gb) 240 pin sli ready edition 800mhz ddr2 pc2-6400 (will be 8 gb total when overclocking)
WD black caviar 500gb 32mb cache
Thermaltake Liquid Cooling

If anyone knows if I can overclock my E8500 to 3.6 ghz or 3.8 ghz just through the bios without messing with the voltage let me know, but if I do have to change the voltages on it, I would need a thorough explanation on how to not mess this up ;)  thanks everyone for feedback!

I am just conscious about not changing my voltages because I heard that if you raise the voltage, the life of the chip decreases somewhat.
November 27, 2009 8:43:06 PM

I think you can get to about 3.8ghz+ with stock voltage because you have a e0 stepping
November 27, 2009 9:46:33 PM

what is an e0 stepping?