What does the OC mean in specs?

g725s

Distinguished
Nov 1, 2009
Ok probably a very basic question for some. But what does the OC mean in memory specs?

example:
Support Dual Channel DDR3 800/1066/1333/1600(OC)/1866(OC)/2000(OC) MHz

seligman

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2007
I have the exact same question, but the replies confuse me.

Are you saying that if I buy DDR3 1600, it will not work at all, or that I have to configure the BIOS to make it work at 1600?

In other words using the OP's example, what's the fastest RAM I can buy? 1333?

--------------------------------

Correct, BUT how GhislainG said, the best option is that you buy a good 1333 memory that is stock for your mobo, 'cause how i see, you don't have too much experience in the O.C. process.

g725s

Distinguished
Nov 1, 2009
I've been starting a few threads. Sorry if it's too many basic questions for the regulars here. But I am a bit new to all this.

Saint19, I don't have a problem tweaking a few settings in the BIOS. But what I want from my system is coolest running and the most stability possible. And I would hope that helps with longevity too, because that is also important to me. And whenever I read about OCing I read about adding fans and extra cooling measures. Not only will it stress the system more, adding fans makes it a louder PC.

I just purchased some 1600(OC) RAM and now I am wondering if I made the right purchase. But I am also getting that I could probably run this RAM at lower setting though. Would running the 1600(OC) RAM at lower clock speed and voltage do what I am wanting from my system?

-----------------------

The cooling of your system is only affected by overclok your CPU or PSU, the RAM don't dissipates too much heat.