Sign in with
Your question

First build gaming pc, need some advice

Last response: in Systems
June 7, 2009 4:44:40 PM

Hey guys,
I'm looking at a budget of up to $2,000 and for that I'm trying to get the most bang for my buck. I'll be using this exclusively for gaming and Internet browsing. This is my first build so I could use some help.

Here's what I've got so far:

EVGA tri-SLI motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Core i7 920 processor

Nvidia GeForce GTX 295

Corsair (2 x 2 GB) RAM
I don't need more than four gigs because I'll be using Windows XP. I'll get more later if Windows 7 turns out better than Vista.

I'm not sure what to do to cool the system, and I could use some help on a good hard drive setup for a gaming machine as well. Advice or opinions on what I've already listed here is very welcome too. Thanks!

More about : build gaming advice

June 7, 2009 4:47:36 PM

you can get a really decent i7 system for just $1,200

dont bother with watercooling. SLI if you really must. I think a SSD is more fun.
June 7, 2009 4:49:30 PM

1) swap the GTX 295 for two 4890's, they perform better and cost less.

2) swap the ram for 3x2GB as the i7 run ram in triple channel, and make sure they are 1.65v or below.

3) You do know XP, vista and 7 are on the same performance bastion at the moment right? except the latter excel in gaming by a fair advantage.

4) you'll want a 750w corsair or silverstone PSU, or a 1000HX by corsair if you plan on adding another card.

Related resources
June 7, 2009 5:09:07 PM

Thanks for the advice. I'll start looking at your suggestions right now.

I thought XP couldn't detect more than 4 gigs of RAM? Oh well. Maybe I was wrong. 6 gigs can't hurt, especially when I'm saving on the GPU.
June 7, 2009 5:27:13 PM

wow. sounds like a waste for a system with just XP restricted to DX9.
June 7, 2009 5:33:49 PM